Pigeon “Ghosts” on windows

Kereru ghost on window

A pigeon, probably one of the kereru I was writing about recently, hit the window of my house. The only way I know this is by the “ghost” it left on the glass and, as I didn’t find a body, it must have flown off ok. Unfortunately hits like this aren’t uncommon. The white ghost is feather dust or “powder down” which is a type of feather down used by some groups of birds to keep their feathers in good condition. When the bird makes impact, down imprints itself on the glass in great detail. I’ve only seen this with pigeons but parrots and owls apparently also carry this feature. I should clean it off now but maybe having dirty windows will help other birds avoid the same fate. That’s my excuse anyway.

 

2 thoughts on “Pigeon “Ghosts” on windows

Leave a Reply

