Kereru/NZ pigeon in cabbage tree

P1170648

Cabbage tree (Cordyline australis) are covered in berries at the moment and many birds are into them. I saw thrushes as well as this pigeon feeding on them when I was at Shakespear Park last weekend. Cabbage tree berries are almost six months in the ripening – I took the picture of flower (below) at the end of October last year. I know cabbage trees are grown in Britain and Europe where thrushes may eat the berries but I wonder if there’s a pigeon over there that will eat them too.P1150790

Leave a Reply

