Little bundles of fluff

P1160187

Last week at Tawharanui I found myself in the middle of a family of young pheasant chicks and their somewhat displeased mother. The one in the photo nearly got trodden on but ran off happily after its photo was taken. I had this happen to me last year too when I disturbed a hen with a swarm of young who shot off in all directions. I carried on up the valley to do my work and forgot about them but on my way back down they were all back with the hen and I startled them all over again. It wasn’t their day.

Shakespear Park also has a lot of pheasants but it was nice to see this California quail family when I was there last week. These chicks look pretty small but they’re giants compared to the little Chinese quail chicks we’re expecting soon in our aviary at home.

 

P1160124

Leave a Reply

