My friendly song thrush

P1150632

I’ve just come in from weeding the garden. Killing two birds with one stone, I also managed some photos of the friendly song thrush which came to eat whatever I was disturbing. I say “friendly” thrush but in fact the blackbird is much less shy and came a lot closer to gather food for her recently hatched chicks. The thrush though is a real favourite of mine. Ever since I read Tolkien’s The Hobbit as a kid I’ve remembered the thrush (though evidently not a song thrush) scene; “At that very moment he (Bilbo) heard a sharp crack behind him. There on the grey stone in the grass was an enormous thrush, nearly coal black, its pale yellow breast freckled with dark spots. Crack! It had caught a snail and was knocking it on the stone. Crack!” Then a little later; “The old thrush, who had been watching from a high perch with beady eyes and head cocked on one side, gave a sudden trill”. I didn’t get any sudden trills but I was definitely being watched by that curious eye.

P1150654

Leave a Reply

